• Welcome to FPHS - Legacy Forum.

News:

If you are having a problem logging in or using the Forum contact the Webmaster at webmaster@forcespostalhistorysociety.org.uk. Every member has been pre registered so new members should not try and register themselves. You will have been advised of your login details with your membership information.

Main Menu

Narrow railways to the Front

Started by dphillips, August 09, 2018, 10:21:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dphillips

I am interested in railways and understand that narrow gauge railways were used to carry supplies to and from the front. Does anyone know of any correspondence connected with these?

Peter Harvey

Hi Dave,

I thought I would ask for you to explain a little bit more about your interest. I think (I am no expert on railways), that you refer to the narrow gauge used in WW1 on the Western Front (but you might be asking about something else). Other that the Army Post Office R__ date stamps and the relationship to railheads in WW1, can not day that I have seen a great deal more.

Regards Peter

dphillips

Hello Peter

Yes. It was the narrow gauge railways used in WWI that I am interested in. I think a lot were operated by engineers and that they were taken up and relaid as required. Any material that I can find will be helpful and of interest.

Many thanks. Dave

Peter Harvey

Hi Dave,