• Welcome to FPHS - Legacy Forum.

News:

If you are having a problem logging in or using the Forum contact the Webmaster at webmaster@forcespostalhistorysociety.org.uk. Every member has been pre registered so new members should not try and register themselves. You will have been advised of your login details with your membership information.

Main Menu

Identification of Censor: Type 5 - Passed Field Censor No.1213

Started by Peter Sexton, December 08, 2021, 11:27:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peter Sexton

I'm a new member located in Melbourne, Australia and am hoping someone could provide some assistance on this query please.

I've been researching my grandfather's time in WW1 for a few years trying to identify just which unit he was with as unfortunately his service record was destroyed in WW2.

He is Roderick McNeil, Reg No. 39960, Gnr Royal Field Artillery and went to France with the 37th Divn on 30 July 1915. I have presumed he was with 126 How Bgde in that Divn. as he was a gunner with 126 How. Btry, 30 Bgde in his 3 year stint with the Regular Army from 1905 to 1908.

Recently some postcards came to light from one of my cousins of Roderick's correspondence with my grandmother.

This one dated 19 September 1917 has the postmark 'Army Post Office T.W.4'. From my limited research this appears to have been allocated for the AIF 4th Division and was established at Reninghelst, a town that was established as a railhead for that Division when they were in the area at the time.

From the information on this site, I think the Censor stamp is called a 'Type 5, Oval, Passed By Censor' with the Censor number being 1213. I'm pretty certain it's that number although it does look like 1218 at times when I look at it but I think that is just where there was more ink on the pad where the three is located when the censor stamped it.