• Welcome to FPHS - Legacy Forum.

News:

This forum uses cookies which keeps track of your login preferences. With cookies enabled, you can log in automatically each time you visit the forum.

Main Menu

Query: ARNO & Liverpool Foreign postmark

Started by Michael Dobbs, March 29, 2020, 02:24:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael Dobbs

I received the following enquiry from one of my contacts in the British Postmark Society:

[color=maroon]I am forwarding the message below in case you can add anything with your FHPS hat on, although - despite the censor mark and addressee's rank - it is not really a forces' item as far as I can tell.  I now know that ARNO is the Association of Royal Nay Officers, current HQ in Bayswater, but maybe they had a Liverpool office during WW2.  With reference to the [first] paragraph [from the original enquiry below] I think - though I am no expert in the field - that he overstates the prevalence on dumb cancels on mail in WW2.  What little I know relates to mail received from HM Ships, while this is a printed paper item addressed to a neutral country, Eire, albeit one to which inland rates generally applied (at least until 1948, as I have a PO Guide from that year). It is addressed to a Royal Marines officer (possibly retired?) at a civil address, apparently a large house - then or now possibly a hotel - from which the addressee had moved on.  The only aspect that puzzles me slightly is the 'Liverpool / Foreign' cds cancelling the stamp. Routeing via Liverpool makes sense for civilian mail from the UK to Eire, given the need for censorship, but one would expect the stamp to be cancelled at the office of posting, as the normal procedure still applied to all civil mail during WW2, as far as I know. Hence my speculation about an ARNO office in Liverpool, posting these circulars at the HPO there.

Any thoughts you may have, or other sources on information, would be welcome.[/color]