• Welcome to FPHS - Legacy Forum.

News:

This forum uses cookies which keeps track of your login preferences. With cookies enabled, you can log in automatically each time you visit the forum.

Main Menu

A late envelope to BEF 26th June 1940

Started by Ingo Egerlandt, July 02, 2016, 03:46:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ingo Egerlandt

Hello,
who can read the adress?
1447196 ***. C. Chlan
44/101 LAA/AT Regt. R.A. (T.A)
40 Army Post Office
B. E. F.

And who can identify the Unit in which town or area?

Tank you
Ingo

Michael Dobbs

Ingo

A partial response - the unit is

44 Battery, 101 Light Anti-Aircraft and Anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery (Territorial Army)
℅ Army Post Office
(℅ = care of)

Regards, Mike  ;)

Ingo Egerlandt

Mike,
thank you for these information! Can you read the first Name please?

Ingo

Michael Dobbs

Ingo

I'm not very good with names, but I think that the word after his regimental number (1447196) is his rank - that of Driver (Drvr) - this is not the normal military abbreviation for such a rank (which is Dvr) but it is not part of his name.  As a regimental number is given it is clearly not an officer and the British do not routinely use a first name and initial before their surname (the Americans do).  For this reason I am convinced it is his rank (equivalent to a Private) and that his name is C Skelan (and not as you have suggested - but I am open to correction here).

Can anyone confirm my findings please ?

Thanks, Mike ;)

Ingo Egerlandt

Mike,
Thank you again Mike! I think about your coments! The word is difficult but a rank.

The envelope is used after 18th June 1940 (26th June). It is my 2nd envelope after french surrender. Why? Is the solidier missing from his Family? Make the method more persons where doesn't hear from the soldiers? The envelope goes Return to Sender very Late in December 1940.

What is the History from these unit in bef time?

Ingo

Chris Weddell

Hi Ingo and Mike,