• Welcome to FPHS - Legacy Forum.

News:

If you are having a problem logging in or using the Forum contact the Webmaster at webmaster@forcespostalhistorysociety.org.uk. Every member has been pre registered so new members should not try and register themselves. You will have been advised of your login details with your membership information.

Main Menu

Anyone interested in the Crimean War?

Started by apearson, April 04, 2021, 09:39:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

apearson

Hello everyone.

I'm new to the FHPS and I collect/research letters, documents and postal history of the Crimean War 1854 - 56.  I was wondering if any other members have interests in the Crimean War or 19th c. warfare.  I have bits and bobs from the American Civil War as well, plus postcards (another collecting interest) relating to the Franco Prussian War, Boer War, and WW1/2.

If anyone is interested in the Crimean War perhaps you could make contact, if not then I'll have to try to convert you.

Best Regards and Stay Well.

Adrian.

Alan Baker

Adrian

Welcome to the Society and the forum. I have checked through the declared interests of our members and the only person who has specifically stated an interest in Crimean War material is .....you!

However, I believe there are several members whose interests cross into this period, notably John Cowlin, who I seem to recollect putting on a display of this period (Mike Dobbs will no doubt correct me). I don't think John accesses the forum though.

There are also members who are interested in the other periods you mention, but the rest of us are quite prepared to be converted, either through posts here or articles in the journal or in one of our zoom meetings. We are always keen to see what other members collect.

Alan Baker

Howard Weinert

Adrian,

I am interested in the Crimean War although I have only two letters - one Royal navy in the Baltic and one French navy in the Crimea.