• Welcome to FPHS - Legacy Forum.

News:

If you are having a problem logging in or using the Forum contact the Webmaster at webmaster@forcespostalhistorysociety.org.uk. Every member has been pre registered so new members should not try and register themselves. You will have been advised of your login details with your membership information.

Main Menu

Self-censorship in the Navy

Started by Sozont Singh, April 11, 2021, 09:28:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sozont Singh

Hello everyone.
I'm new to society, so I don't know if this issue has been raised or not.
I am very interested, and the censor-officer on the ship who censored the letters, did he censor his own letters?
Maybe there are envelopes where both the sender and the censor are the same?
(I am especially interested in this question regarding the First World War)

John Cranmer

I have examples of letters self censored by Canadian Officers.  I see no reason that other nations forces did not do the same. 

I have a pair of covers by a Canadian pilot one when he was a NCO and was censored by another officer and one after he had been promoted when he censored the letter himself.

Sozont Singh

John, thank you for the answer!  :)

"I see no reason"

I have heard speculations that self-censorship may not be very good, due to the fact that you cannot adequately assess yourself. But I think that with regard to wartime, hardly anyone thought about it. I decided to ask here, just in case, because I was interested in this question.

Michael Dobbs

Sozont

As I understand it, in the British forces during both WW1 and WW2 officers were allowed to self-censor their own mail - as officers they were trusted persons.

Others more involved with censored mail may wish to comment!

Mike

Sozont Singh

Mike, thank you for the addition :)

Frank Schofield

Gents

As they say on Blue Peter "Here's one I wrote up this morning"

Frank

Sozont Singh

Frank, thank you so much!

The envelope is interesting!

Ross Debenham