• Welcome to FPHS - Legacy Forum.

News:

If you are having a problem logging in or using the Forum contact the Webmaster at webmaster@forcespostalhistorysociety.org.uk. Every member has been pre registered so new members should not try and register themselves. You will have been advised of your login details with your membership information.

Main Menu

Help Wanted WW1 Covers

Started by Andrew Tott, April 13, 2014, 08:30:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andrew Tott

As I am still fairly new to the collecting of WW1 postmarks, I wish to ask the advice of some of the other more experienced collectors on the forum.
A few weeks ago at a local stamp and postcard fair I purchased two groups of cards, there was 19 cards in one lot and 20 cards in the other.
the first group of cards were all sent by Sapper 219139 Robert Cunningham. Royal Engineers. it also has R.O.D. which stands for Railway Operating Division.
All the cards have been sent to either Mrs E.Cunningham or Mr A.Cunningham at Station House.Lochgelly.Fife-Shire.Scotland.
They all have the hand stamp Army Post Office S.50 which is for Cherbourg - France, recorded use 19th May 1917 to 26th July 1919 in the Proud book and the same in the Kennedy and Crabb book.
The cards are dated from 13th August 1917 to 15th April 1918.
From the 13th August 1917 to 12th September 1917 they all have Type 5 - 5168 censor, from the 13th September 1917 to the 2nd October 1917 they have Type 5 - 5679 and from the 21st October 1917 to 15th April 1918 they have Type 6 - 5199, I know that these are not recorded in the Frank Daniel book but does any one have any other information on these censors.
The second lot of cards are again sent by the same person but unable to find the details for this soldier but all the cards are sent to Mrs L.West on the first card and all the others are to Mrs L.Hart or H.Hart could be his wife with the address 17 New Street.Weedon.Northamptonshire.